Friday Funny and the Return of the Evil Butterflies

Help! Help! They’ve come back. The butterflies. The horrible, pesky, distracting butterflies!

Man, oh man! Ever since the second round of the NYC Midnight Short Story Challenge, I haven’t been able to get my act together. Between a busy work schedule, being sick, and lots of family obligations/events, I haven’t been able to sit down and focus on my manuscript. And when I finally do sit down and get to work, I feel like the Tinman from the Wizard of Oz. Rusty and stiff and, generally, out of whack.

12247176_ori tinman getting oiledOf course, I know the solution to my problem. It’s the same simple solution I came up with a couple of months ago when the “butterflies” first swarmed me: I need to, “Suck It Up and Writer Up!” Stomp down and crush those unnecessary distractions. Focus all of my time and energy on my manuscript and get it done! Don’t let anything hold me back. Fight for it. Charge full steam ahead!


Unfortunately, I won’t be able to put my battle plan into action until next week. This weekend is packed with lots of Easter celebrations, and my nephew’s 2nd birthday party (I’ve been assigned to make Minion cupcakes for it…Yeah, those will be interesting). *sighhh*

Anyways, here is this week’s Friday Funny. I need to remember this as I finish writing the rest of my first draft. I need to remember, especially during these “ugh” moments, that my manuscript doesn’t need to be perfect. It just needs to be written!

24712aba1d4d9ce45de0a3ae30f21a10So, how about you guys? How was your week? Are the butterflies swarming you, too? Or have you squashed those suckers and been productive?

Jen’s Weekly Roundup

Music Monday – Long Shot

Vote For A Dedicated Teacher – AKA My Sister

How to Write the First Draft of a Novel

4 thoughts on “Friday Funny and the Return of the Evil Butterflies

  1. I’ve got tummy knots going on over here. I’m midway through the 1st revision of my first draft and I’ve realized just how many things I want/need to change. At this point, if I do what I think needs to be done I’m going to end up pretty much rewriting the whole thing! Family and friends, with out fail, keep askin me “Are you done with the book yet?” and my stomach ties in knots. I want to say, “No, I think I might be doomed. Save me please!” but instead I smile and say, “Almost there!” lol And to top it off everywhere I go I’m seeing inspiration for new stories. I’m finding it hard to focus on this first draft :-/

    Like

    1. First drafts are rough–in so many ways. Second drafts, however, are even rougher. I think while we’re writing the first draft, we like to think, “Oh, this is so good. Revising it will be a cinch.” Then we go back and see just how much work needs to be done with it. If it makes you feel better, it took me over two years to write a solid draft of the manuscript I optioned. And that draft has now gone through at least 30 rewrites.

      Don’t worry about your friends and family. We all feel that way. And I totally know how you feel about too many ideas. I have about 3 right now that I’m dying to work on. AHHH! Oh well. Such is the life of a writer 🙂

      Good luck!

      Like

  2. I wish i had my first draft…..it’s all in my head and nothing in the computer or the Big Chief tablet. And right now, no stress…….just waiting for the next round of golf!
    Aunt Kathy

    Like

Leave a comment