Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Synopsis

“Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.
Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.”

Jen’s Review

I couldn’t wait to leap straight into Cinder‘s sequel, Scarlet. In fact, I had it on my desk and ready to go before I’d even finished Cinder. I knew I wouldn’t be able to wait a single day to keep this magical tale going.

Now, at first, I was put off when I discovered this second book in the Lunar Chronicles was based off two new characters, Scarlet Benoit and Wolf (aka, Little Red Riding Hood and the Big, Bad Wolf). I just wasn’t happy to put Cinder and Prince Kai’s adventure on hold. I wanted to know what happened to them–now! However, my fears were instantly quieted. First of all, Marissa Meyer soothed me by interweaving Cinder and Prince Kai into Scarlet and Wolf’s story. Second, I LOVED Scarlet and Wolf, perhaps even more than Cinder and Prince Kai. They were so likeable, so entertaining, so passionate. And Wolf…growl. I might have a new book crush, ladies 😉 Just like CinderScarlet was fun, fast-paced and addicting. More addicting than Cinder, in my opinion.

Trust me, Marissa Meyer knows how to write a story, build its momentum, and keep her audience thirsting for more. Which I am! I’m already counting down the days to Cress, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles.

Jen’s Rating

4 Star

Read more about Scarlet here.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Leave a comment